Library BranchesLibrary LeadershipLibrary History/FactsLibrary Policies
Who We AreAffordable Care ActSummer ReadingAdult ProgramHome
Seed LibraryGiving Garden
Adult ProgramChildren/Teen Program
This is the "Who We Are" page of the "Welcome to Haywood County Public Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welcome to Haywood County Public Library  

Inspiring our community to connect, discover and grow.
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2017 URL: http://haywoodlibrary.libguides.com/main Print Guide RSS Updates

Who We Are Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Who is the Haywood County Public Library?

The Haywood County Public Library is a department of Haywood County Government. The Library is governed by a 6 member Board of Trustees, appointed by the County Commissioners. The Library serves the citizens of Haywood County with a main library in Waynesville and 3 branches in Canton, Fines Creek, and Maggie Valley.

The mission of the library is...

To provide robust links between information and knowledge with high quality materials, programs, and staff that: 

  • Inspire lifelong learning.
  • Enhance personal and professional lives.
  • Advance the spirit of community and diversity
  • Contribute to the economy of Haywood County 

Your library card is the key to many great resources and is available at no charge to all residents of Haywood County and our surrounding counties. The Haywood County Public Library provides free services from the main library in Waynesville and three branches in Canton, Fines Creek, and Maggie Valley, as well as outreach services to daycares and nursing homes. 

The library collection includes over 158,000 books, 11,500 audio cassettes and cds, 9,000 videos and dvds, and 545 journal subscriptions. All of these items are available to be checked out and returned at any library location. 

In total, 497,000 materials including over 333,000 books and 148,000 cds, videos, and dvds were checked out during the fiscal year 2008 – 09! Library patrons can access the library catalog from the Internet, placing items on hold, and renewing their materials. A library card also provides you with access to a growing collection of online resources including genealogy databases, encyclopedias, and magazines and newspapers. The library has expert reference help ready to answer any question during library hours as well as 24/7 virtual reference from the library homepage. Sometimes you need more help than what Google can do for you! 

High speed, Internet access is available at all of the libraries with only a small printing charge. If you prefer to use your own laptop you can use the library’s Wi-Fi. 

The Youth Services department provides story-times for preschool aged children as well as infants at the Waynesville and Canton libraries each week. They also plan popular programs like the Dr. Seuss Birthday Party for school aged children. The Summer Reading Program, funded by the Friends of the Library, encourages all children to keep up their reading each summer. 

The Friends of the Library plan programs throughout the year for adults. The programs are funded by their very popular annual booksale held every July. These programs include scholar led book discussions, film series, and local history programs. Outreach services are provided to many of the nursing and retirement homes in the county.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip