Library BranchesLibrary LeadershipLibrary History/FactsLibrary Policies
Who We AreAffordable Care ActSummer ReadingAdult ProgramHome
Seed LibraryGiving Garden
Adult ProgramChildren/Teen Program
This is the "Job Center" page of the "Welcome to Haywood County Public Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welcome to Haywood County Public Library  

Inspiring our community to connect, discover and grow.
Last Updated: May 23, 2017 URL: http://haywoodlibrary.libguides.com/main Print Guide RSS Updates

Job Center Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Local Resources

Goodwill's Career Connections Center
23 Hendrix Street
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: (828) 246-9233

Success Outfitters at Career Connections Center: provides professional clothing to people with limited incomes.

provides people with limited resources a way to obtain appropriate clothing for interviews and working on-the-job at no cost - See more at: http://www.goodwillnwnc.org/workforceDevelopment.cfm#sthash.w47ywpoN.dpuf

Joblink
1170 North Main Street
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: (828) 456-6061
Ask for Janis Rowe

Life Works
228 Edwards Cove Road
Clyde, NC 28721
Phone: (828) 452-3406

Waynesville Unemployment Office
1170 North Main Street
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: (828) 456-6061
Jobs Line: (800) 768-5627
Email: esc.jobs.waynesville@ncesc.gov

Local Employers

Resources for Recent Grads

Find this book and more through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog. 

And take a look at these websites:

  • AfterCollege.Com
    "Explore your options and be presented with jobs and internships you could be a fit for by entering your school, major and graduation date." -- from their website
  • College Recruiter
    Search by job title, keyword, or area for job listings geared toward students and recent grads. Site also includes articles, list of best employers, and free resume critique.
  • CollegeGrad
    Search for entry level positions by industry, location, or employer. Includes information on resumes, interviews, and career profiles for the 30 most popular careers.
  • Education Portal: Career Counseling & Job Center
    "This collection of career resources is designed to help guide students and recent graduates through the career decision making process." -- from their website

Resources for Veterans

Find this book and more through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog. 

And take a look at these websites:

  • Best for Vets: Employers 2015
    Chart ranking the top 74 employers for veterans and how they compare. Compiled by the Military Times.
  • Department of Veterans Affairs: Veterans Employment Toolkit
    "Designed to provide you with answers and resources in finding and obtaining employment, as well as making career decisions and excelling in the workplace." -- from their website
  • G.I. Jobs
    An extensive website devoted to simplifying the transition to civilian life. Includes career resources, pay calculator, school matchmaker, "hot lists" of the best career opportunities for veterans, and more.
  • Hiring Our Heroes
    Job listings, career fairs, mentor-programs, webinars and more for veterans, transitioning service members, and military spouses.
  • Military.com: Veteran Jobs
    Includes job search articles, a resume builder, skill translator, and a job search by keyword, location, or category.
  • Resource Guide for Veterans
    Designed to assist and educate veterans in learning about state and federal veteran benefits. Includes information on employment and education.
  • Resources for Military and Veterans
    "Find resources for post-service employment as well as a host of other resources for healthcare, disability benefits, locating lost service members, and more."-- from their website

Resources for Older Job Seekers

Find this book and more through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog.

And take a look at these websites:

Resources for People with Disabilities

Find this book and more through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog.

And take a look at these websites:

Resources for Ex-Offenders

Find this book and more through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog.

And take a look at these websites:

  • Ex-Offender Toolkit
    A collection of resources on re-entering the workforce, including tips for the application and interview process, information about the fidelity bonding program, and more, from the Job Center of Wisconsin.
  • Felon Friendly Employment
    A list of companies that will hire ex-offenders, from the exoffenders.net blog.
  • Overcome Barriers to Employment
    A list of websites and articles on overcoming barriers to employment, including resources for ex-offenders, job hoppers, and more.
  • Resources For Ex-Offenders
    Includes links to government job sites, UNICOR Bonding Program Toolkit, and more, from the Federal Bureau of Prisons.
  • Step Ahead
    "Helps job seekers with felony convictions and other criminal charges know their work options, set goals, get training, and be successful in their job search." -- from their website
  • Tips for Completing an Effective Job Application
    A pdf of a brochure with tips for ex-offenders from the Mission Valley One Stop Workforce Center
 

At Your Library

Services

Free One-on-One Computer LessonsTuesdays and ThursdaysWaynesville Main Library and Canton Branch Library
Free one-one-one computer tutoring with an experienced computer scientist. Learn how to search for jobs online, fill out an online application, create a resume on Microsoft Word, or a topic of your choosing. Sign up at your local library, or call (828) 648-2924 for lessons at Canton and (828) 452-5169 for lessons at Waynesville.

Job Search

These books and more available through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog.

 

               

 

And take a look at these websites:

  • How to Spot a Job Scam
    Advice from the Federal Trade Commission on how to avoid job scams and where to look for jobs.
  • Overcome Barriers to Employment
    A list of websites and articles on overcoming barriers to employment, including resources for ex-offenders, job hoppers, and more.
  • Craigslist: Asheville Area Jobs
    The online version of a newspaper's help wanted section. Great for finding local jobs, but anyone can post an ad so use caution.
  • Indeed.com
    Search by job title, location, or both.
  • Job Hunt
    Articles, resources, and job postings with an emphasis on avoiding scams.
  • NCWorks Online
    "A one-stop online resource for job seekers and employers in North Carolina." -- from their website
  • ReferenceUSA Job Help
    Quick search by keyword and location or use the advanced search. The results are pulled from a wide range of job sites, but not organized very well by location. Includes links to external job search tools.
  • The Mountaineer Classifieds
    The Mountaineer's classifieds online. You can select "Job Opportunities" from the category drop down menu.
  • USA Jobs
    The federal government's official job search site.
  • Neuvoo
    A jobs search engine that also features a free "take-home" (after tax) salary calculator.

Networking

These books and more available through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog. 

 

 

 

And take a look at these websites:

  • Facebook
    The largest social networking site. Connect with people, join groups, and share news.
  • LinkedIn
    The largest career-focused social networking site. Make connections, advertise your skills, and find out who knows who.
  • Twitter
    A social networking site built around information sharing. "Tweet" (share) your own 140 letter messages, and re-tweet other people's messages.
  • Monster: Professional Networking
    A collection of articles on professional networking. Includes networking safely online, informational interviews, and more.

Cover Letters and Resumes

These books and more available through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog.

 

           

 

And take a look at these websites:

  • Cover Letter Resources
    A paragraph by paragraph guide to writing your cover letter, from the University of Michigan's Career Center.
  • Cover letters: types and samples
    Gives the basics on how to write an effective cover letter, and provides sample cover letters for different situations
  • Free Resume Examples
    A master list of resumes for specific jobs, ranging from office manager to student intern to holistic health coach (and much, much more).
  • Got Resume Builder
    Create a free account, then just fill in the forms and choose a template for an easy professional resume.
  • Hloom Free Resume Templates
    Over 200 free resume templates, and advice on how to customize your resume.
  • Preparing a Resume and Cover Letter
    Clear instructions on how to put together your resume and cover letter, from Rutgers University.

Interviewing

These books and more available through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog.

 

 

And take a look at these websites:

Salary Negotiation

These books and more available through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog.

 

             

 

And take a look at these websites:

Support

These books and more available through your library!
Click on the book to find it in our catalog.

 

                

 

And take a look at these websites:

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip