Library BranchesLibrary LeadershipLibrary History/FactsLibrary Policies
Who We AreAffordable Care ActSummer ReadingAdult ProgramHome
Seed LibraryGiving Garden
Adult ProgramChildren/Teen Program
This is the "Library Leadership" page of the "Welcome to Haywood County Public Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welcome to Haywood County Public Library  

Inspiring our community to connect, discover and grow.
Last Updated: May 23, 2017 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Leadership Print Page

The Haywood County Public Library Board of Trustees

In 1943 the Waynesville Library was organized into the Haywood County Public Library. The County Commissioners appointed the first Board of Trustees and charged them with the governance of the county’s public library. The first members of the Board, pictured here, were Colonel J. Harden Howell, Chairman; Mrs. Troy Leatherwood, George A. Brown, Jr., Mrs. Hilda Way Gwyn, Glenn Palmer, and Mrs. H. A. Helder. Sixty-four years later the Library Board of Trustees continues to provide leadership and direction for the Haywood County Public Library.

First Board of the Haywood County Public Library

The Haywood County Public Library Board of Trustees is a 6 member board appointed by the Haywood County Commissioners. One member is elected annually during the June meeting of the County Commissioners. Each member serves a 6 year term and can be reappointed for a second 6 year term. The Board meets the third Wednesday of the month at 4:30 p.m. Most meetings are held at the Waynesville Library in the upstairs conference room. Please call (828) 356-2503 to confirm the location of the meeting.


Loading  Loading...