What Does the ACA Do?
Among other things, the ACA:
- Creates the Health Insurance Marketplace
- Requires insurance companies to cover people with pre-existing conditions
- Makes it illegal for health insurance companies to cancel your health insurance just because you get sick
- Provides free preventive care, in many cases
- Ends lifetime and yearly dollar limits on coverage of essential health benefits
- Allows young adults up to age 26 to be covered by a parent's plan
- Guarantees your right to appeal
The ACA requires everyone who can afford it to have health coverage by 2014. Persons without coverage may be required to pay a fee called the “individual shared responsibility payment” which will increase every year they lack coverage after 2014. To avoid this fee you need insurance that qualifies as "minimal essential coverage". This includes:
- Any Marketplace plan, or any individual insurance plan you already have
- Any employer plan (including COBRA), with or without “grandfathered” status. This includes retiree plans
- The Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP)
- TRICARE (for current service members and military retirees, their families, and survivors)
- Veterans health care programs (including the Veterans Health Care Program, VA Civilian Health and Medical Program (CHAMPVA), and Spina Bifida Health Care Benefits Program)
- Peace Corps Volunteer plans
Other plans may also qualify. Ask your health coverage provider.
You might also get an exemption from paying the fee.
Summer Reading Widget Test
North Carolina has not chosen to expand its Medicaid program at this time. Read “What if my state isn’t expanding Medicaid?” to learn more. You can find out whether you qualify for Medicaid under North Carolina’s current rules 3 ways: Contact the Haywood County DSS at 828-452-6620, apply online through ePass, North Carolina's online Medicaid application, or fill out an application for coverage in the Health Insurance Marketplace.
Haywood County Libraries and the ACA
Haywood County Libraries take no stance either for or against the Affordable Care Act.
Desk staff are not certified to provide advice or guidance regarding your health insurance choices. However, we provide computers with internet access which you may freely use to access the US government's ACA resources. Additionally, we have created Affordable Care Act information manuals that can be found at the front desk of each of our branches. The manuals include information on the health insurance marketplace in North Carolina -- how it works and what marketplace health insurance covers -- as well as information on the premium tax credit, the Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP), and sample marketplace health insurance applications.